Surface Coal Mine County Information

For general information regarding mine permits, the Surface Mining and Reclamation Division has provided a reference booklet for public viewing at each county courthouse. The following is a list of counties and the respective coal mining operation(s):

Atascosa County – San Miguel Mine
Bastrop County – Three Oaks Mine
Camp County – Leesburg Mine
Franklin County – Monticello-Winfield Mine
Freestone County – Big Brown Mine, Jewett Mine, Turlington Mine
Grimes County – Gibbons Creek Mine
Harrison County – South Hallsville Mine, Marshall Mine, Rusk Mine
Hopkins County – Monticello-Thermo Mine
Lee County – Three Oaks Mine
Leon County – Jewett Mine
Limestone County – Jewett Mine, Kosse Mine
Maverick County – Eagle Pass Mine
McMullen County – San Miguel Mine
Panola County – Liberty Mine, Martin Lake Mine, Marshall Mine, Rusk Mine
Robertson County – Calvert Mine, Kosse Mine, Bremond Mine
Rusk County – Martin Lake Mine, Oak Hill Mine, Liberty Mine, Rusk Mine
Titus County – Monticello-Winfield Mine
Webb County – Rachal Mine