Attendance Policy for Alternative Fuel Safety EventsJune 07, 2021
Read More Announcements
COVID-19 Resources and Response
With the Governor’s disaster declaration and Executive Order related to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) and his direction to state agencies to provide flexible work and telework policies to employees, the RRC will maintain limited skeleton crews at the William B. Travis building (WBT) and district/regional offices, with other employees telecommuting. This is in effect until further notice.
Important Note for In-person Filings
In an effort to ensure the safety of the public and Railroad Commission staff during the COVID-19 concerns, the RRC is not accepting in-person filings at this time. You may submit filings via U.S. Postal Service, FedEx or United Parcel Service.
Exams will be administered by Railroad Commission of Texas staff to certify individuals to perform work requiring contact with Propane (LPG), Compressed Natural Gas (CNG), and/or Liquefied Natural Gas (LNG).
In addition to passing the exam, every applicant for LPG certification as a bobtail driver, DOT cylinder filler, service and installation technician, appliance service and installation technician, motor/mobile fuel dispenser or recreational vehicle technician must complete 8 hours of approved training by the next May 31 after passing the examination.
Retest will not be an option.
(NOTE: If the examination is passed between March 1 and May 31, then the training must be completed by May 31 of the next year.)
All individuals must be registered at least 7 days in advance of an event.
All events are subject to change please check this event page at least 24 hours before the day of the event.
June 21, 2021 - 8:00 AM
RRC Commissioners Assess More Than $435,000 in Penalties
AUSTIN – The Railroad Commission of Texas assessed $437,438 in fines involving 142 enforcement dockets against operators and businesses at the Commissioners’ Conference on June 8. The Commission has primary oversight and enforcement of the state’s oil and gas industry and intrastate pipeline safety.
Ten dockets involved $112,090 in penalties after operators failed to appear at Commission enforcement proceedings. Master Default Orders can be found on the RRC Hearings Division webpage.
Operators were ordered to come into compliance with Commission rules and assessed $51,998 for oil and gas, LP-Gas or pipeline safety rule violations. Pipeline operators and excavators were assessed $273,350 for violations of the Commission’s Pipeline Damage Prevention rules. Master Agreed Orders can be found on the RRC General Counsel webpage.
In the absence of timely motions for rehearing, decisions are final as stated in these final orders.
View All News