Notice to Oil and Gas Operators: North Central Texas Area Groundwater Protection Determination


Railroad Commission of Texas (RRC) rules require operators to obtain a Groundwater Protection Determination from the RRC’s Groundwater Advisory Unit (GAU) before drilling a well. The determination identifies the depth to which surface casing must be set and cemented to protect usable quality water.

Normally, a Groundwater Protection Determination is issued on a well-specific basis for a point location. However, in certain parts of the state, a Groundwater Protection Determination may be issued for a designated area when available information indicates the water depth is uniform in that area. As part of the RRC’s Texas Oilfield Relief Initiative, the GAU has identified areas with consistent groundwater protection depths in the following fourteen (14) North Central Texas counties: Archer, Baylor, Callahan, Foard, Haskell, Jones, Knox, Shackelford, Stephens, Taylor, Throckmorton, Wichita, Wilbarger, and Young.

To view the full notice