Chairman David Porter Travels to Mexico in Support of Country’s First Post-Graduate Energy Law Program


Applauds Nation’s Educators for Emphasis on Regulatory Certainty

MONTERREY – Railroad Commission Chairman David Porter today attended the inaugural commencement for the School of Law postgraduate program at the Universidad Autonoma de Nuevo Leon (UANL) in Monterrey, Mexico to commemorate the graduation of the nation’s first class in energy law.

“The rule of law and regulatory certainty are important for Mexico - and indeed any other country - for a successful oil and gas industry,” Chairman Porter said. “That is why the graduation ceremony of the first class of energy law is such an important event. I commend UANL educators for their foresight and leadership in designing and implementing Mexico’s first postgraduate degree in energy law. I also congratulate the law school graduates and current students for their hard work and dedication to this important program.”

Jorge Canavati, a San Antonio businessman and professor at UANL’s School of Law, invited the chairman to join him at the event Friday morning, where the Secretary of Energy of Mexico, Pedro Joaquin Coldwell, gave the keynote address.

"What a privilege to have Secretary Coldwell and Chairman Porter at such an historic, important ceremony,” Canavati said. “This shows the symbiotic relationship between Mexico and Texas in energy matters."

Prof. Canavati also invited Porter to act as a guest lecturer for his Basic Concepts in Energy Logistics course at UANL Friday evening. The seminar course was launched last year and is also the first of its kind in Mexico.


Texas Railroad Commission Chairman David Porter was elected statewide by the people of Texas to serve as a member of the Commission in November 2010. A Certified Public Accountant and successful small business owner, Chairman Porter has worked with oil and gas producers for nearly three decades providing strategic financial advice and tax counsel. He is the senior member of the Commission with a proven record of principle-driven, free market conservative leadership.