Updates to RRC’s “Call Before You Dig” Requirements Take Effect Feb. 12
Rule Changes Strengthen Public SafetyFebruary 08, 2018
AUSTIN – Effective next Monday, Feb. 12, Railroad Commission pipeline damage prevention rules require excavators who strike a pipeline while digging to notify the pipeline operator by calling the 811- notification center as soon as possible, but no later than one hour after an incident. Excavators must also call 911 if any natural gas or other product is released when an underground pipeline is struck. These rule updates extend the deadline for pipeline operators and excavators to file a damage report with the Railroad Commission from the current 10 days to 30 days.
RRC rules already require anyone planning to dig deeper than 16 inches to call 811 before they dig to prevent damage to underground pipelines. The required 811 call prompts pipeline operators to mark their underground natural gas or hazardous liquid pipelines to avoid being struck during the digging process. Failure to obey the “Call Before You Dig” rules can result in penalties and fines.
About the Railroad Commission:
Our mission is to serve Texas by our stewardship of natural resources and the environment, our concern for personal and community safety, and our support of enhanced development and economic vitality for the benefit of Texans. The Commission has a long and proud history of service to both Texas and to the nation, including almost 100 years regulating the oil and gas industry. The Commission also has jurisdiction over alternative fuels safety, natural gas utilities, surface mining and intrastate pipelines. Established in 1891, the Railroad Commission of Texas is the oldest regulatory agency in the state. To learn more, please visit http://www.rrc.texas.gov/about-us/.