

RAILROAD COMMISSION OF TEXAS OVERSIGHT AND SAFETY DIVISION DAMAGE PREVENTION

Notice of Pipeline Damage Prevention Rules

Anyone planning to dig or excavate deeper than 16-inches is required by Texas law to call 811 before beginning their project so underground utilities can be marked. To best ensure there is no damage to underground utilities, we recommend calling 811 prior to any project that involves digging or excavation, regardless of depth.

BEFORE EXCAVATING:



CALL 8-1-1 before you dig so underground utilities can be marked. REFRESH when necessary



WAIT 48 hours, excluding weekends and legal holidays, to give the locator time to mark the underground utilities



VERIFY positive response has been received -- visually confirm area is marked or an all-clear given



SURVEY the job site for evidence of unmarked pipelines, such as gas meters or risers



Dig with CARE

REPORT ALL DAMAGES (Including minor scrapes and dings)



IMMEDIATELY call 9-1-1, if there is a release of product



Notify the pipeline operator through the notification center (811) as soon as possible, but not later than 1 hour for any damage



File a report of the damage through the Commission's online filing system (Texas Damage Report Form) within 30 business days.

The Pipeline Damage Prevention rules, 16 Texas Administrative Code, Chapter 18 outlines requirements for pipeline operators and any person engaged in or preparing to engage in the movement of earth in the vicinity of a pipeline, including service lines. The rules also require reporting if a pipeline is damaged during a dig. Penalties for violations of the Pipeline Damage Prevention rules begin at \$1000 per violation. To view the rules, visit the Texas Secretary of State website at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac/index.shtml.

For more information on the Pipeline Damage Prevention Program, visit the Railroad Commission of Texas website at http://www.rrc.texas.gov/pipeline-safety/ under "Pipeline Damage Prevention Program" or call 512-475-0512.

TDRF-ED