SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 262

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Railroad Commission of Texas, which is celebrating its 130th anniversary in April of 2021; and

WHEREAS, The Railroad Commission was established in 1891 by the Texas Constitution and the state legislature to oversee the rates and operations of railroads, terminals, wharves, and express companies; in 1917, the legislature declared oil and gas pipelines to be common carriers, and in 1919, the commission was given jurisdiction over the oil and gas industry; and

given jurisdiction over the oil and gas industry; and
WHEREAS, Over the years, the commission's jurisdiction has
evolved to include overseeing oil and gas exploration and
production, pipeline safety, alternative fuels safety, natural
gas utilities, and surface mining of coal and uranium; and

WHEREAS, The Railroad Commission employs highly skilled engineers, geologists, and field inspectors, as well as information technology specialists and experts in law, finance, and safety, to ensure the protection of the public, the environment, and the economy; and

WHEREAS, The Railroad Commission professionals conduct site inspections and field audits of the state's oil, gas, and mining infrastructure, while they also work to modernize systems, transform processes, and streamline transparent business operations; all associated with the commission are deserving of recognition for helping the agency to remain a model for best practices in regulatory management; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 87th Legislature, hereby commend all who have contributed to the Railroad Commission of Texas' proud record of service and extend to them congratulations on the commission's 130th anniversary; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the commission as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Birdwell

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 14, 2021.

Secretary of the Senate