Winter Storm 2021

Historically Underutilized Business

(HUB)


Call (512) 936-0806 or visit the RRC website.

  • At least 51% ownership, including active participation and control by an African American, Asian Pacific American, Hispanic American, Native American or American Woman.
  • Eligible Applicant must be a U.S. Citizen
  • Principal place of business must be located in the State of Texas

The Texas Procurement and Support Services (TPASS) is required by law to maintain a statewide Centralized Master Bidders List/HUB directory. The application process takes 4 to 6 weeks from the time the completed application is received by TPASS. TPASS HUB staff may be reached by calling (512) 463-5872 in Texas or call toll free (888) 863-5881.

In order to determine whether a vendor qualifies as a HUB, a vendor must complete a Historically Underutilized Business Certification Application. The HUB application can be viewed and downloaded from the Texas Procurement and Support Services (TPASS) HUB Forms Library. At this time, the form must be notarized and returned to TPASS in paper form.

HUB certification is FREE of charge and valid for up to 4 years if all eligibility requirements are met and maintained.

No. The Texas Procurement and Support Services (TPASS) has implemented requirements for businesses seeking certification with the state. If a business is applying for HUB certification or re-certifying under a new business structure, in conjunction with completing the HUB Certification Application, a business must provide certain documentation for its business structure to become certified as a HUB. The required documentation is contained on the application.

In order to maximize benefits of the state's HUB program, businesses are encouraged to register on the Centralized Master Bidders List (CMBL) to receive certain Invitations for Bids (IFBs) automatically and have their commodities/services advertised by class-item codes to state agencies. Purchasers are required to choose vendors from the CMBL for competitive purchases.

Please visit the Comptrollers website to register on the CMBL.

Texas is divided into 24 geographical districts. When an applicant completes a HUB Certification Application, a vendor may elect to bid in all or individual districts by so indication. Bid invitations for commodity classes and items selected by the applicant will be mailed only for the districts designated on the application. Two branches of the same company may bid in the same district if they are bidding on different items.

All "bids" for goods and services expected to cost $25,000 or more will also be posted on the Texas Marketplace, Electronic State Business Daily.



Commissioners